City of Scandia, MN

Anniversary Invitation FlyerMellerud Mayor 2022Food Table

First Anniversary Celebration with Sweden!

Join the fun at the First Anniversary Celebration of Scandia’s Sister City charter signing with Mellerud, Sweden!  Festivities will occur on Thursday, April 20th, starting at 11:00 a.m., at the Scandia Community Center.   

An online ceremony on large monitors with our friends in Sweden will include Swedish songs performed by the Bettes drἅgar Choir from Mellerud, American songs by Unexpected Company Chorale, remarks by Mellerud Mayor Karl-Olof Pettersson and Scandia’s Mayor, Christine Maefsky, and an update of our connections during the past year.  The celebration will be broadcast simultaneously in each respective international location.

Please come and show your support for this important event. 

Following the brief ceremony, a Swedish FIKA will be held. This is a beautiful Swedish tradition during which people drink coffee, tea, or juice, eat Swedish cakes, cookies, and other light snacks, and talk to each other!  The Scandia’s Sister City Committee plans to serve the towering Kransekake cake, Princess Torte, and Krumkaka waffle cookies, to name a few.  The food and the company will be excellent!  The City of Scandia and The Scandia-Marine Lions Club sponsor this no-charge FIKA.  All are welcome to attend; you will learn a few Swedish words!

Scandia sought out Mellerud to be our sister city because many of Scandia’s founding families came from the Mellerud area with names such as Isaacson, Abrahamson, Dahlin, Edstrom, Kuno, and Anderson.

Listed are connections between our cities set up by the Scandia’s Sister City Committee: connecting the Lions Clubs, our elementary schools, our choral groups, a farm program, tourism exchange, museum collaboration, ancestry information, commercial trade, arts and crafts idea exchange, classic antique cars, beekeeping clubs, quilting club, Girl Scouts and a lake fishing connection.

Thank you to Scandia's Sister City Committee for all their hard work to make this happen! The committee includes Lynne Moratzka, Mayor Christine Maefsky, Julie Morse, Dave Bakke, Susan Rodsjo, Paul Rodsjo, Cindy Higgens, Darlene Holtgreve, Lynnette Welsch, Sue Dickens, and Patti Ray.

For more information, go to

learn more